My Night With a Beatle

My chance to witness a Beatle in the flesh finally came when Sir Paul McCartney took center stage last night in Austin, Texas during his Out There Tour. This was more than a dream come true for me and I honestly cannot count the times that I got choked up while trying to sing his songs, holding back tears of joy. It felt so unreal to see one of the men, who I’ve grown to love, sing the songs of my childhood live and interact with an audience that I was a part of.

He performed mostly Beatles songs, and even now, I still can’t believe that I witnessed the last performing Beatle play and sing them in concert. He opened with Eight Days a Week and closed, during his second encore, with the song I most anticipated, The End. The best part of the concert was getting to recognize that Paul is still, and always will be, the goofy man that I’ve always imagined him being. He is still young at heart and full of energy just like he was back in all of his Beatles flicks.

I will never forget the night of May 22, 2013. And now, I have something to cross off my Bucket List…

2 thoughts on “My Night With a Beatle

Leave a Reply

